Agents Guide Maps Tips and Tricks

All Valorant Game Modes – Everything you need to know 

Written by vptip

Valorant, the fast-paced tactical shooter from Riot Games, has rapidly grown in popularity since its release. Alongside its unique agents and precise gunplay, a key factor in Valorant’s appeal is its variety of game modes, each offering a distinct experience. This article will provide an in-depth exploration of all Valorant game modes as of June 2023.

1. Unrated

Unrated is Valorant’s standard game mode, where players can play the full game without the pressures of the competitive ladder. It uses the same rules as the Competitive mode: two teams of five compete over 12 rounds as attackers and defenders, with an additional 12 rounds following a half-time switch. The first team to win 13 rounds emerges victorious.

2. Competitive

Competitive mode is for those looking to take their Valorant gameplay to the next level. This mode uses a ranking system, which means that players are matched with and against others of a similar skill level. The rules and gameplay are the same as in Unrated, but the stakes are higher due to the ranking system.

3. Spike Rush

Spike Rush is a more relaxed and faster-paced game mode than Unrated or Competitive. Each game lasts only seven rounds, and every player starts each round with a random weapon and all their abilities. This mode also features power-up orbs that offer various bonuses, adding an extra twist to the gameplay.

4. Escalation

Escalation is a fun, casual mode with a focus on fast-paced gameplay. It’s a team-based mode where players progress through a sequence of weapons and abilities by earning kills. The first team to progress through all levels, or the team that is furthest along at the end of the time limit, wins the match.

5. Deathmatch

Deathmatch is a free-for-all game mode designed to help players warm up and improve their shooting skills. In this mode, 14 players compete to reach a set number of kills or have the most kills at the end of the time limit. There are no abilities in this mode – just your shooting skills.

6. Replication

Replication is a unique game mode in which all players on a team play as the same agent, leading to chaotic matches filled with the use of the same set of abilities. The mode uses the same round system as Unrated, providing an offbeat and humorous take on the standard Valorant gameplay.


Valorant’s variety of game modes cater to a wide range of player preferences, whether you’re looking for the serious, high-stakes gameplay of Competitive, the quick and casual fun of Spike Rush and Escalation, or the skills-based simplicity of Deathmatch. With this guide, you now have a better understanding of what each mode has to offer. So, it’s time to pick your preferred mode and jump into the action-packed world of Valorant.

About the author


Leave a Comment